Apple is introducing a new feature that will check public iCloud links for potentially harmful content starting with iOS 27.3, iPadOS 27.3, macOS 27.3, and VisionOS 27.3. When users enable this feature, anyone with the link can access the content, including Apple itself. Apple has also stated that sharing an item that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link will disable end-to-end encryption, even if the owner or recipients have Advanced Data Protection enabled.
This feature is not retroactive, meaning it will only apply to links generated after the 27.3 updates are rolled out later this December. Users who attempt to upload harmful content may face consequences such as having their Apple Account blocked or disabled, or being required to change their email address or phone number.











